Welcome to the Blüchermuseum Kaub

The Blüchermuseum in the town of Kaub, with its historically designed interior and its collection of diverse military, artistic and other contemporary memorabilia, takes the visitor back to the fateful year of 1813.

Interior view of the Blüchermuseum in Kaub am Rhein

Interior view of the Blüchermuseum in Kaub am Rhein

Blücher's headquarters was then located in the former inn "Zur Stadt Mannheim", a beautiful baroque building erected in 1780. Since 1913, the memory of this time has been lovingly and uniquely preserved in these practically unchanged living quarters, which are under a preservation order.

It conveys the time of the bourgeois-patriotic movement in Germany for liberation from the Napoleonic yoke. The introduction of general conscription, the call for voluntary hunters and the formation of the Landwehr as well as the establishment of Freikorps (Free Corps) led to the creation of general public armament.

The main theme of the museum is the Rhine crossing of the Silesian army, which crossed the Rhine after the Battle of Leipzig in the first New Year's week of 1814, under the Prussian Field Marshal Blücher, on a Russian pontoon bridge at the nearby Palatinate.

This theme is dealt with in an exhaustive manner in contemporary memorabilia, pictures and display boards. A large pewter figure diorama "Blüchers Rheinübergang bei Kaub" brings this historical event particularly close to the visitor. There are also other dioramas worth seeing.

Support us

Here you can find the website of the Friends and Sponsors of the Blüchermuseum e.V. Become a member or donate to the preservation of the museum.
Read more ... »

History of the

Get to know the history(s) of the Blüchermuseum Kaub and the liberation wars.

Read more ... »

museum shop

In our shop you can buy various souvenirs, books, DVDs or holiday letters.

Click here to go to the shop »
Copyright © Blüchermuseum Kaub - <a href="https://bluechermuseum-kaub.de/impressum/">Impressum</a> & <a href="https://bluechermuseum-kaub.de/datenschutz/">Datenschutzerklärung</a>

Willkommen im Blüchermuseum Kaub

Das Blüchermuseum in der Stadt Kaub versetzt den Besucher mit seiner historisch gestalteten Einrichtung und seiner Sammlung mannigfaltiger militärischer, künstlerischer und sonstiger zeitgenössischer Erinnerungsstücke in das Schicksalsjahr 1813.

Innenansicht des BlüchermuseumsIn dem ehemaligen Gasthaus „Zur Stadt Mannheim“, einem schönen, 1780 errichteten Barockbau, befand sich damals Blüchers Hauptquartier. In diesen unter Denkmalschutz stehenden, praktisch unveränderten Wohnräumen Blüchers wird seit 1913, in liebevoller und einmaliger Art und Weise, die Erinnerung an diese Zeit aufrechterhalten.

Es vermittelt einem die Zeit der bürgerlich-patriotischen Bewegung in Deutschland zur Befreiung vom napoleonischen Joch. Durch Einführung der allgemeinen Wehrpflicht, Aufruf der freiwilligen Jäger und Bildung der Landwehr sowie Gründung von Freikorps, entstand eine allgemeine Volksbewaffnung.

Das Hauptthema des Museums bildet der Rheinübergang der Schlesischen Armee, welche nach der Völkerschlacht in Leipzig in der ersten Neujahrswoche 1814, unter dem preußischen Generalfeldmarschalls Blücher, auf einer russischen Pontonbrücke an der nahegelegenen Pfalz, den Rhein überschritt.

Dieses Thema wird in erschöpfender Form behandelt in zeitgenössischen Erinnerungsstücken, Bildern und Schautafeln. Ein großes Zinnfiguren-Diorama „Blüchers Rheinübergang bei Kaub“ bringt dieses historische Ereignis dem Besucher besonders nahe. Darüber hinaus gibt es noch andere sehenswerte Dioramen.

Unterstützen Sie uns

Hier finden Sie die Seite der Freunde und Förderer des Blüchermuseums e.V. Werden Sie Mitglied oder Spenden Sie zum Erhalt des Museums.
Weiterlesen ... »

Geschichte

Lernen Sie die Geschichte(n) des Blüchermuseums Kaub und der Befreiungskriege kennen.

Weiterlesen ... »

Museums-Shop

In unserem Shop können Sie verschiedene Souvenirs, Bücher, DVDs oder Festtagsbriefe erwerben.

Hier geht's zum Shop »
Copyright © Blüchermuseum Kaub